top of page
  • Jane Segaran

Sticky Labels and Glass Jars

Updated: Aug 27, 2023

Removing Stubborn Labels to Re-purpose Glass Jars


I reuse all my glass jars, from making jam to storage to storing already opened tins or left overs in the fridge – (that way I can see what’s in them and avoid wastage).


Mostly soaking in washing up liquid will remove labels, but there are always some that remain stubborn.





Try:

My Mothers tried and tested method of rubbing with Eucalyptus oil and leaving for a short while before washing. Remove any leftovers with steel wool.





Just rubbing with any cooking oil also works, but will need to be left to soak overnight, removing any residue with steel wool and soapy water.


I pop the jars and their lids in the dishwasher which usually cleans them and removes any smells. A little bicarb and vinegar will remove any lingering odours.




14 views0 comments
bottom of page